Getting Started

It’s February 17, 2014 today and my husband and son are taking a nap. So, let’s caught up on my workout history over the last few weeks, shall we?

I jumped back on the stationary bike at the end of January or beginning of this month, unfortunately, I don’t have an exact date.  I suppose I was doing a form of interval training. I was spending 10 minutes on the bike: 1 minute regular riding, 30 seconds going all out. Repeat until done with the 10 minutes. This initially started as a hormone reset for my body and just to get myself moving. I would continue this every other day for 2 weeks before I started the Beginner Body Weight Workout.

I didn’t start the Beginner Body Weight Workout until February 13, 2014. It basically works like this:

1. Warm Up (I do ten minutes on the bike on random at level 4, regular pace, no intervals)

2. Begin the Body Circuit:

  • 20 Body Weight Squats
  • 10 Push-Ups (I’m still doing the “girly” push-ups)
  • 20 Lunges
  • 10 Dumbbell Rows (per arm, I am using a gallon jug of water for this right now)
  • 15 Second Plank (which was easier than I thought it would be)
  • 30 Jumping Jacks

3. Repeat 2x for a total of 3 circuits

4. Stretch

I probably took it too far on my first workout. I was only able to complete 2 of the 3 circuits and it went a little something like this:

  • 16 Squats > 13 squats
  • 10 girly push-ups >10 girly push-ups
  • 13 lunges > 8 lunges
  • 10 dumbbell rows per arm (using a gallon of water) > 10 per arm
  • 15-second plank > 15-second plank
  • 30 jumping jacks > 20 jumping jacks

Then, of course, I stretched. I definitely put too much pressure on myself the first time to do it all. This was a mistake. I also realized that having DD/DDD breasts meant that I seriously needed some sports bras, because I could have knocked myself out during those jumping jacks…. not to mention they just hurt. SO bad.

The next day, Valentine’s Day, I was so sore from, specifically, the squats and lunges that it hurt to even sit on the toilet to pee. I had to brace myself and make sure I was wearing socks and not shoes or bare feet so I could slide forward and eventually end up with my butt on the toilet. Reality CHECK. My thigh muscles were having spasms which made me feel like I was going to fall over all day. I knew then that I would need to figure out what I could do realistically the next time.

I still managed to jump on the bike for my interval training, which I upped to 12 minutes (which doesn’t seem like a lot) versus my 10 I had been doing before. It hurt, but I did it.

February 15, 2014:

Strength training day again. Yikes! My thighs were still so sore and going to the bathroom was still a chore, I knew I wouldn’t be able to do the squats or the lunges, so I had to tone down the strength training for the day. I did 3 circuits but had to cut the leg work out or else I might have torn something. It went like this:

  • Bike warm-up for 10 minutes
  • Mild Stretching
  • 10 push-ups x3
  • 10 dumbbell rows per arm x3
  • 15-second plank x3
  • Stretch again

I attempted to jumping jacks since I now had sports bras, but my thighs were hurting too much. I was still happy with my turnout, though, because I DID it.

As of yesterday, the 16th, I could finally sit on the toilet a little easier and I did my bike interval training. So today, the 17th, we’ll see how well I can do adding the leg workouts back in.

My next post will likely include weight and measurements.

Leave a Reply

