Late post: Weigh-in Day and then some

Okay, I started writing the majority of this on my actual weigh in Tuesday this week, but… Ha. You’ll see. Just been buuuuusy.

Well, I am back from our five day adventure in the Bay Area. I missed home, a lot. I am not particularly excited to be back but life does go on and I’ve got shit to do. Lets get to the weigh in and then, the shenanigans of out of town-ness. It’s gonna be a long one, so hold

Starting Weight Feb 2014: 261.2lbs 
Weight Last Week: 196.0lbs
Current Weight: 194.9lbs
Weekly +/-:  -1.1lbs
Total Shed: 66.3lbs

I have to admit, I am beyond proud and excited for myself about this loss. It was difficult to try and track everything I was eating because I didn’t have a lot of control over dinners, especially. This was my first “vacation” since I decided to take back my life and my body and I kept on track. This was a huge test and I passed. I feel like I can finally say I’ve made a true lifestyle change for the better!

We stayed at my husband’s friends place up in the San Francisco area last Wednesday and Thursday.  She’s a classy gal, this one. She had a pot roast with vegetables ready for us upon our arrival and since we had packed our own snacks on the way up, I knew I could eat dinner guilt-free and I did. Oh, I did.

She’s got the best dogs, one of them being a Labradoodle (first generation) who really looks like a giant Muppet. Anyway, my husband helped raise those dogs as he watched them constantly for her back in the day when she was traveling for work – she is an attorney. Or was, she’s retiring and moving back to the East Coast, which brings me to Day 2 at her place….

So, since she was going through everything and doesn’t want to ship it all, she was donating a lot of stuff. Having been through major weight loss herself and talking about my current progress, she ran away and brought in all these bags of clothes. Like baaaagggggsss of clothes. So, we played dress-up and you know what? It’s the first time I had fun doing something like that. It helps that all her stuff was really, really nice and that it actually fit my current body. Then – you guys – no joke, she told me I could keep what I wanted because she was donating it to people who were just going to sell it at a flea market anyway.

WHAT? FUCKING COOL. Ahem…..

So, woo! I scored a bunch of cool stuff. I’m not sure how long it will all fit but it sure made me feel so good to have real, actual, girly clothes to choose from now. I even took some stuff that will fit in 10-15lbs from now. Not a lot but ya know. Lots of tops and around four pair “skinny” pants/leggings which actually don’t look awful on me. I also got some sweet jackets and skirts.  I am SO thankful for her generosity and she seemed genuinely excited to pass her clothes along to someone she knows and that was in need for them. I think what may have sealed the deal for her on it, is knowing I already have a small (really, it’s just three of us, haha) clothing swap group I’ve been sending my clothes to as they dont fit and then they send them to each other depending where they’re at. I’m glad we started that. Now I can part with some stuff I was holding onto because I barely had anything else!

…roasted chicken with veggies for dinner at her place night #2. Yuuuum.

Friday we spent at my sisters and we had a belated birthday dinner for my mama. My mom and brothers hadnt seen me since January so, they were a little shocked. My mom kept insisting my face was too skinny, my younger brother hugged me and said, “whoa, there’s a lot less of you to hug, I don’t know how to react!”, ha. My older brother is socially and mostly always charmingly awkward and simply said, “so hey, you lost some weight”.  The response was very positive from my family overall.

Saturday was our first wedding anniversary. We spent it celebrating one of my childhood friends wedding day. I was nervous about this because I knew at least one old high school bully would be there, which he was.

The ceremony was short and sweet just off the beach, the weather was perfect and the couple looked like statuesque Greek gods. Perfect.

The reception started with my friends Aunt stopping dead in her tracks to ask me if I was me and when I laughed and said, “geez, do I really look that different?”, she about lost her mind. She’s known me since I was around 13ish so… She’s always known me bigger. That felt pretty damn good, I gotta say. I got it from a lot of folks, which felt great.

I did, however, get seated at the same table as my former bully. As well as some other awesome folks… Ha. At one point we were outside and he was mentioning what a dick he was to people in high school. So, I’m sure the glass of wine I had helped, I asked him if he remembered being a dick to me and I started laughing. I think it threw him off that I was so direct about it. He said yes and he was trying to get to that but since I had presented it first….
He apologized. Said he has felt bad for years and wanted me to know, if it made me feel better, that remorse has played a huge role in his feelings towards me. It did, and I told him that. We let bygones be bygones and we shook hands and hugged it out. I forgave him and he thanked me for it. That felt really good too. Like, really good.

Sunday a friend of mine drove to my sisters so that our kiddos could meet finally. We have been trying to plan this for nearly two damn years. We didn’t force them to play together but they did play together and separate as well. They were so good with each other it was way too cute. 

Later we headed to my oldest brothers house about an hour southeast of my sisters place. We always have a good time with them. Their son is affected by autism and I’m always so enchanted by him and to see what new skills he has acquired since I last saw him. He communicates so well for not being able to speak much. He really, really loved having his baby/little cousin around and they laughed together and my nephew kept buttering me up so he could play with my son’s toys, haha. It was pretty cool. I was also finally able to hand off a box of clothes each to my niece and my sister-in-law!  it was a shorter night than usual for us, being we left at 12:30am instead of 3am, ha.

Now comes Monday morning, we had planned to leave around 930-10-30 to get back home around 3ish. I probably should have mentioned that our 12 year-old Jeep started making a ticking or fluttering noise on the way up. Upon an oil change, we were told they were dirty lifters, were lubed/clean and we were told the sound would stop in time.

Well, about halfway into our drive home… The sound gets worse and our toddler is just not wanting to sit in the car anymore. My husband and I note the noise and both silently pray and send good vibes out to at least get us home. Let me tell you, whatever we both wished or prayed to/for worked.

After a near six hour drive as we were in the exit only lane of the freeway  – our last exit before home – the motor starts sputtering, the car will no longer accelerate. As we were on the off-ramp, it just stopped running and the engine started smoking. We were able to safely get the car into a parking lot just off the exit before it came to a complete halt. We were 2.1 miles from home. So, that happened. Haha.  After a call to AAA to get it towed home, hubs took a breather with the boy and they walked.home while I waited for the tow. The driver said what I had already thought: probably a blown head gasket since it was leaking oil and coolant together. Argh.

To add insult to injury, a week prior we had just purchased new tires. I had also agreed to pick up my brother from the airport this week on Tuesday night and take him to a court date Weds and back to the airport Weds night. So, we spent the night scrambling to unpack the car and come up with a game plan. Luckily, AAA offers (for Premier membership) a free rental with tow and since we had to get the car to the shop anyway, that’s what we ended up doing late Tuesday afternoon. So we got one free day and a standard size car at $30/day through AAA. Not too bad.

So, I held up my end of the bargain with my brother. I picked him up from the airport about 10pm Tuesday night, was up at 5:15am on Weds morning to make sure he was up and that we had enough time to make it to the courthouse by 7:30am…. Which we didn’t because the LA/OC area is ridiculous. 27mi took almost two hours. His case wasn’t heard until around 10am, we had lunch and dropped someone off – back to the house by 1:30pm to relieve husband from screaming child and so my bro could take a nap and at 4pm we were back on the road for his flight home.

So, yeah. Today I spent the first part of the day running errands to the store and things like that before we take the rental back tomorrow afternoon. I’m pretty sure it’s not going to be worth what it will cost to fix the Jeep and we arent in a position to buy a car yet either so!  Looks like a lot of walking in my future, eh?

Silver linings:
1. jeep took us on one last family adventure. It was our last trip in what ended up being our first family car!
2. No accidents, no one was hurt
3. Hubs and I both still lost weight on vacation
4. It makes a great story!

If you’re still here…. Thanks! Ha.

Looking forward to catching up with everyone!

2 thoughts on “Late post: Weigh-in Day and then some

  1. Sounds like an awesome vacation all around! The friend sounds like a GREAT host and the wedding was a positive experience in more ways than one 🙂

    I am sorry about your Jeep. I hope you get it fixed soon.

    • Thanks! It really was a great trip even though it was super jam packed. I knew it would be a positive experience if I let it be, ya know? I can be my own worst enemy! 😛

      The diagnosis on the Jeep is grim. Definitely needs a new Motor. I’m still convinced we are under mileage on the warranty when we had it replaced two years ago. We have a toddler so it’s not like we drive like we did before he was born. I still have hope of that! I anticipate it will be a lot either way because something under the motor gave out that had never been worked on. So. It’s okay. It will force us to walk more as a family and that’s always good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

