Weigh-in Tuesday

Well, as suspected… This one is not so good, so lets just get to it.

Starting Weight Feb 2014: 261.2lbs 
Weight Last Week: 192.0lbs
Current Weight: 194.4lbs
Weekly +/-:  +2.4lbs
Total Shed: 66.8lbs

So, basically a two and a half pound gain. Several factors, both positive and negative, did not keep my eyes dry about it. Even a little. I straight up started the self hate immediately even though I know better.

So here are some things to consider:

1. I ate candy for five days straight. All five days I was under calorie goal but I still consumed like 5 fun size candies all those days.

2. 17 miles of walking last week. I am sure there’s some muscle building happening as well. My legs, butt and back can attest.

3. We don’t have a car right now, so we werent super well hydrated for a few days until we were able to get a ride to pick up a few cases of water.  Water rentention.

4. My lady business is supposed to start any time now, so, there’s that. Ladies know what’s up.

5. In all this time I’ve not had a lot of gains, I know this is circumstantial and not all because of candy even though that’s what I feel like beating myself up for.

6. Our food budget was low/out until yesterday, so now there is more fresh stuff in the house, but was not as much the case for the last week.

So, there it is. Talking it out with the hubs and knowing all of these things as facts don’t necessarily make me feel better, but they do keep me honest.

Sincerely, I didn’t even want to post about my gain. Blah. But, this journey isn’t easy and right now its all in my head. I wish my brains could receive hugs.

People plateau, they gain, they lose. I am thankful I didn’t go back over 200. I am thankful I can learn from my mistakes and see the overall progress. If I could lose weight on vacation, I certainly don’t want to and don’t have to let holidays slip me up. I am better and healthier than I was at the beginning of this year. I am over 100lbs down from my highest (known) weight of 298 and damnit, in 20lbs, I will be out of the “obese” range on the BMI chart (“overweight” range is odd to strive for right?).

Here’s to pushing forward anyway, for me.

As Joe Dirt would say, just gotta keep on keepin’ on.

8 thoughts on “Weigh-in Tuesday

  1. I look at a new blog I haven’t been to before.. at this point I’d usually offer advice, but you really don’t need any, you know exactly what to do and what makes you tick. What works and how to rationalize things. (Even if no matter how well we rationalize things, our hearts usually kick the brain straight out of the ballpark)

    I don’t know if it’s an odd thing to strive for, the being overweight on BMI.. I’m striving to hit the Obese mark of BMI ….

    You’re doing great, keep doing what you’re doing! (and that is not for the gain from this week!)

    • Thank you! You’re very kind… 🙂

      A lot of days I don’t feel like I know what the heck I am doing, but there’s proof in the pudding! Or lack thereof in this case….

      I like to think I am a logical and reasonable person. I like to get my unhappy out and move forward and not waste anymore energy than necessary on anything negative.

      And for what it’s worth, in February I was in the “morbidly obese” category on the BMI chart… To only be 20lbs shy of “overweight” seems surreal (for some reason it makes me feel like a fraud?). If I can do it, any one can. Just gotta be committed to all aspects of the journey. The holy trinity of baggage: physical, mental and emotional. Ha!

      😀

  2. L. says:

    Yes, look at how far you’ve come since you started. Surely this isn’t the first time it was less than ideal, but something pushed you through. Whatever that is, unless you re-assess and feel you’ve achieved it or no longer want it…it’s still out there, waiting to be fulfilled. You definitely inspire me.

    • I read this first thing this morning and it made my day easier to start, so thank you for that. 🙂

      Yesterday was a mess all around but it needed to happen. Life has an odd way of throwing reminders of “you’re human” when you don’t even realize it’s needed.

  3. You have come so far and I am so proud of you!

    I know about difficult weeks–I’ve had more than a few myself. Another blogger has convinced me that this is not a big deal, though. He has made me see the light! The bottom line is, we are all in this for the long haul. The scale showing a 1 or 2 pound gain once in awhile is not a big deal in the grand scheme of things. What’s important is pushing through it and getting to the finish line. We are working towards a better life, complete with a lifestyle that we can actually maintain.

    Are you feeling better? Are your clothes fitting better? Do you see a difference when you look in the mirror? Can you be more physically active now than you could’ve been a year, a month ago? If you answered yes to any of those questions, then you are doing just fine.

    I still know it’s hard and it’s a bummer when this happens, but this other blogger has made me look at this situation differently. They say that nothing worth having in life comes easy–this is one of the things that falls into that category.

    I am still so proud of you, and I hope you’re proud of yourself, too. You have done so well!

    Just keep going, B! ❤

Leave a Reply

