My Birthday Curse

Today I’m going to complain because I haven’t got anywhere else to do it!

Every year without fail something happens just before or on my birthday that kind of blows my day to smithereens. Every year I have been a good sport about it and think, “okay, next year is gonna be AWESOME!”

My birthday is this coming Sunday.

Starting a few weeks ago, I had finished my first Jamberry event and had borrow a bunch of vendor-related stuff from other consultants because I hadn’t had time to pay for them and have them get to me in time. I’d also had a bunch of trade stuff going on with a friend – so I was preparing all of these packages at the same time. I’ve ALWAYS scheduled a pick-up at home and put out my packages moments before the postal carrier arrives.

Well, this time someone stole all those packages. They didn’t think I was home but I was, alone with my son – I chased them about as far as I could really go without leaving my boy behind by himself. I got the best details I could, filed a police report, but you know how it goes – they’re in the wind! Never getting them back. So now, of course, I had to buy/replace anything that had been stolen. You know when you finally get to that point of just a TINY BIT ahead on everything? THEN IT’S ALL STOLEN.

I’m not mad about replacing things for these people, it’s the right thing to do. I’m just mad that some asshole stole from my porch. I’m mad I left the packages out. Then my postal carrier sent me a “picked-up” notice and even though I had insurance on the packages, had this notice and everything, since they’d never actually been picked up, the best I could do was get the cost of postage back. YEAH COOL. $16 vs $150+.

In fact, one of these very packages that I had to purchase – which I did so directly from the website to be shipped to a girl in Utah – is STILL IN LIMBO. Yesterday I checked tracking and it’s in Southern California – everyone’s information has this woman’s UT address and it took me, I shit you not, 60 minutes to get a live person on the phone to tell me exactly what the automated system and online systems can tell me: the last scan information. OKAY. Now they tell me I get to wait until the 6th, except she needed it by the 6th and I ordered this around May 19. SO UM. So I was told to wait.

Additionally, medical insurance is in limbo as well – even though I’ve done everything properly on my end. I turned everything in a month early – I’ve been flaked on numerous times and today I was told, again, to wait until some time next week. WELL, I’ve been working on this since the beginning of April and they apparently can’t get their thumbs out of their asses and have 2 copies of my paperwork. They have no record of my having come in and suggested I come in, again. Or schedule a phone thing, again, so no one can call me.

So I’m out a few hundred because of the theft and my time was wasted on the phone wherein I could have been a lot more productive instead of stewing in angst. Plus no one can friggin hear me on my phone because my adorable son broke it in August 2014.

That “few hundy” was going to my next fitness/health adventure which will now have to be on hold until I can recoup that loss.

My storage rent went up again. I’ve had it for 3 years and it’s gone up almost $40 – that’s a lot, right? In the same day as that notice (yesterday) I also received an e-mail stating that during inspection they noticed my lock was “missing” – upon calling this morning all I was told was that during renovation they took my lock off, put a new lock on, then took it off because they assumed I’d put a new one on (even though my address lists me over 300 miles away……). I asked how long my unit had been without a lock, if it’d been broken into. I was met with all “all the notes say are” and a “we will put a new lock on and you will need to buy a new one and switch it out. come to the office when you get here”.  Sure, let me jump in and drive a few days early to come handle this now.

I’m tired of having my time wasted over things like this. I am a very diligent person, I do things the right way the first time, I’m a good person. Why all the obstacles man?

And in the event I can still make this roadtrip possible to see my family and friends for my birthday because this is all I have tried to make happen for the last 3-4 years…. now it’s going to be squished as shit because I have to spend a day either reorganizing/going through my storage and/or relocating everything.

There’s a bunch of stuff up in the air with one of my nieces and two of my nephews and nobody seems to be communicating with anyone on that. It’s so complicated though I mean…

A lot of this is surface stuff, there are some COOL and some WEIRD things in the works… and some seriously deep stuff I can’t even get into right now.

I joked with my husband the other night that I wondered if my psychology teacher in high school was still around – he’d had my oldest brother, my sister and myself in his class. He certainly had a handful of perspective on my family – we could probably have a good laugh about my final paper my senior year (A+ and extra credit OKAAAYYY) and how things are currently turning out.

Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming…

I know the light is at the end of the tunnel but today it just doesn’t seem as bright. Still going to a demo tonight to see if I can find a way to move forward with my plans anyway!

Hope Sunday fuggin RULES.

Leave a Reply

